Well that’s how Gavin McGinnis from Street Boners has made it look through a sneaky series of edits and loops and who am I to judge? (But seriously, while I do have a sense of humor I’d appreciate it if you took that video down, Gavin.) 

      Yes, those were fantastic days acting with the Great Chuck. All the Planet of the Ape actors had to wear platform shoes so as not to appear completely dwarfed by the man’s heroic stature. Even in those skinny-dipping scenes we had to cobble along on top of six-inch shoes. What grand old times!

   Well life since then has been no less eventful. I was living on the streets of Hollywood in the lean 70’s and then in the 1980’s I cleaned up my act and got into teaching. I’ve been teaching creative writing ever since. These daily stories have been an exercise in writing something completely off the wall and cutting edge.

  Oh and if you have any time I have some scripts for a new 6-part series of Planet of the Apes that I’d love to read to you. 

 

Skull Buckets

 

     “There are words hidden like stowaways in the images that come to mind through the course of the day,” the Teacher says to the honors writing 12 class. He explains this slowly so his 18 star pupils can write every word down in their black, white and red notebooks. He explains these words as if they were already written down in a teleprompter in his brain.  “These words are core words that are essential and unique, the building blocks to great sentences.”

     The students assiduously scribble everything that’s said along with the number of seconds between pauses and the gestures that his long arms sweep into existence. They’ve been told to put everything to prose and if they don’t get everything down the Teacher throws a tantrum but sometimes he’s pissed off for other reasons.

     “Okay I can feel that you’re not getting this. You’re writing all this down but you don’t feel what I’m saying. I can feel that you’re not feeling it. This room is like a desert. Where is the water?” the Teacher yells.

    One student near the back who’s only been in the class for only two weeks is tempted to point to his water bottle on the corner of his desk but the threat of physical violence keeps his index finger from curling out from within his fist. 

   “The water is the inspiration. That is an image that just came to me and what are the words inside that image? I want you all to close your eyes and picture some kind of water. How wet is that water? How warm? Are there fish swimming through the eye-holes of skulls at the bottom? Lift up that skull and drink deep from this well of inspiration, I say unto thee!! Open your eyes and write down everything that came to mind.”

    And so the one student at the back writes about a well with a skull for a bucket that’s lowered to get the water and the tall and pompous man who guards it.

